A to Z Bookish Survey

I saw this on Paint and Butterflies Books’ page, the first blog I’ve actually got around to following, and couldn’t resist filling it in. Anyone who knows me knows I love a quiz or a survey or putting my two cents in. As I read it on her page, I couldn’t help answering it in my head, so I thought I’d give it a go. As I’m fairly new to the creative/book blogging world, this is my first tag, so be gentle and don’t be shy in the comments.

 

A: Author you’ve read the most books from- 

Probably John Green if I’m being honest. Discounting series like Harry Potter, which is obviously seven books by one author, the most different books I’ve read by one author is probably John Green.

B: Best sequel ever

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins. Better than the first, I thought.


C: Currently reading

The Good Liar by Nicholas Searle. (Shh, it’s not actually out yet, but so far I can tell it’s going to be one of the best books of 2016)

D: Drink of choice while reading

I’m not really a big drinker or eater whilst reading – I don’t like anything interrupting me!

E: E-reader or physical book

Ahh the endless debate. Of course we all prefer the physical book, to smell it and to feel it, and also to admire the cover (designers do some seriously good work), but I love how easy it is to have a whole library in my bag at any one time. Especially on the train/tube, having my Kindle is so perfect.

F: Fictional character you probably would’ve dated in high school

I don’t know to be honest. I’m trying to compare my high school boyfriend with any fictional characters and I just can’t. I know who I’d like to have dated: Etienne St Clair, from Anna and The French Kiss.

G: Glad you gave this book a chance

The Storyteller – Jodi Picoult. I don’t usually like Holocaust books, but this story was just so captivating. It made me stay up way past my bedtime.

H: A hidden gem book

I think maybe Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. I’m not sure actually how many people have read this or how popular it is, but I barely hear about it. It was just a really deep, thoughtful, beautifully written romance with a realistically dark undertone.

I: Important moment in your reading life

I remember being maybe seven years old and being an avid and hungry reader, but refusing to read Harry Potter. My mum got me the audio tapes and I remember sitting on the floor of my bedroom listening to Stephen Fry tell me the most wonderful story. I kept my tapes in a long red box and not soon after devoured as many Harry Potter books as were publishing at that time.

J: Just finished

We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver (Review to come).

K: Kinds of books you won’t read

I generally don’t read non-fiction, and I don’t like anything too ‘out-there’ or scary. I also tend to avoid vampires.

L: Longest book you’ve ever read

I have the Riverside Chaucer, which contains almost everything Chaucer ever wrote… I’m not sure if that counts? Otherwise probably Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. The Count of Monte Cristo is giving me a dirty look from my bookshelf because I just can’t bring myself to get into it.

M: Major book hangover because of

I don’t know really, I’m trying to think. We Need to Talk About Kevin certainly made me stop and think and I felt shaken by its ending… but it didn’t stop me from starting a new book the next day.

N: Number of bookcases you own

bookshelf

This mishmashed collection is meant to be my bookshelves, but when it was put in, I started using the shelves for lots of other things and now my books have resorted to spilling out everywhere at the bottom. No shame.

O: One book you’ve read multiple times

Just one?? The Harry Potter series (I actually still listen to the audio tapes whilst I sleep) and The Fault in Our Stars are probably the most re-read books. And Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern.

P: Preferred place to read

Trains and Planes.

Q: Quote that inspires you or gives you all the feels

 

“You like someone who can’t like you back because unrequited love can be survived in a way that once-requited love cannot.”

― John Green, Will Grayson, Will Grayson
R: Reading regret

Not spending more time reading instead of re-watching American TV shows. I can’t help it, they’re my guilty pleasure.

S: Series that you’ve started and need to finish

 

The Regeneration Trilogy – Pat Barker. I really really want to get around to finishing The Eye in the Door and The Ghost Road.
T: Three of your all time favorite books

This is painful. It’s like choosing a child.

  1. Starter for Ten – David Nicholls
  2. The Fault in our Stars – John Green
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – JK Rowling

 

U: Unapologetic fan girl for

John Green. As an author. I think people are so dismissive because he writes YA fiction and they’re technically ‘easy’ reads. But his books and his writing are so deep and so important. No word is written by chance.

See? He gets us.

V: Very excited for this release

The Good Liar, because I’m reading it and I want everyone else to.

W: Worst bookish habit

Leaving books in various rooms in my house and forgetting about them. Also forgetting to read books I’ve bought excitedly when I get a new book that I’ve bought excitedly.

X: X marks the spot pick the 27 book on your shelf

The Boy that Never Was – Karen Perry.

Y: Your latest book purchase

Well I just amassed a whole haul of books from my two weeks at Penguin, so those are all my ‘To Read’ books. But the last one I actually bought was We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Z: ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late)

Also We Need to Talk About Kevin. We need to talk about how I always stay up late reading.

 

 

So there you have it. An insight into my reading life, and my first tag. Comment as you will.

2 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

Leave a Reply

