Musing Mondays – Monday 9th May

Musing1

Throwing out another Musing Monday today, courtesy of Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What is the best book you read LAST year?

Today I’m answering ‘I’m currently reading…’ and the book(s) I’m currently reading are two in fact! So I in turn ask you this question, do you have to concentrate on one at a time or can you read more than one book at once?

Most of the time I read one at once, but every so often I find myself dipping into two at the same time, whether that’s because I’m reading one in print and one on my Kindle or something similar. And I almost always have one book at home that I’ve put a bookmark in the last time I was home and then come back to the next holiday. (Even though I’m not actively reading it, I usually count it as a book I’m reading!)

So at the moment, I am currently reading:

Find Me – Laura van den Berg

Cover

AND

Maybe Someday – Colleen Hoover

Cover

I also have A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman on the go at home.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What is the best book you read LAST year?

Really tough one because I read so many great ones! These include some really popular books, so I could say The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins or Me Before You – Jojo Moyes.

But I think I’m going to go with a book that I think deserves a lot more love, and that’s The Good Liar – Nicholas Searle.

Cover

 

Roy is a conman living in a leafy English suburb, about to pull off the final coup of his career. He is going to meet and woo a beautiful woman and slip away with her life savings.

But who is the man behind the con and what has he had to do to survive this life of lies?

And why is this beautiful woman so willing to be his next victim?

It was such a cleverly written book and so skilfully done. I felt compelled to keep reading to find out more about Roy and his story, alongside his plan. I really recommend it to anyone – it was a rollercoaster of a read: it cranks up and up and hurtles down with twists and turns that make you unable to put it down.

That closes up Musing Mondays for this week! Check out all the other responses on Books and a Beat’s page!

6 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – Monday 9th May

Leave a Reply

