Musing Mondays – Monday 11th July

Musing1

Happy Monday! Here’s another Musing Monday, courtesy of Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

 

So, this week I blogged about something really important to me, which is the trials and tribulations of working or looking for a job in publishing. I’m right in the midst of applications and each rejection is extremely upsetting and disappointing, especially because I’m so ready to kickstart my career.

I’ve never been someone who was desperate to go travelling or otherwise – the only place I want to travel to is London so I can get involved with the publishing life down there and start my new life.

So please, please – if you work in publishing or are looking for a job in publishing and want to read a little exasperated rant, check out this week’s blog post on the hunt.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

I just realised that the last time I did a Musing Monday, my answer to the Random Question was also a Jodi Picoult book.

To me, the book that was desecrated when they made it into a movie was (you’ve probably guessed it) My Sister’s Keeper.

Cover

 

Movie

I know lots of people loved the movie but to me it strayed too far from the novel. The novel was compelling and dramatic and had that wonderful twist at the end, which the movie totally did away with and instead replaced it with a saccharine, twee storyline. It was a good film, but it wasn’t the book I read.

What did you think of the movie? Have you read the book?

 


And that closes up Musing Mondays for this week! Check out all the other responses on Books and a Beat’s page!

Leave a Reply

