Musing Mondays – Monday 8th August

 

 

Wooee, welcome to August! Here’s another Musing Monday, courtesy of Books and a Beat.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that you hope to re-read some day.

 

I’m currently reading Foxlowe by Eleanor Wasserberg, which I was lucky enough to receive at an interview last week. Though I didn’t get the internship, I think it was so generous of HC to give me a couple of books just for coming to interview with them.

We were the Family, and Foxlowe was our home.

There was me – my name is Green – and my little sister, Blue. There was October, who we called Toby, and Ellensia, Dylan, Liberty, Pet and Egg. There was Richard, of course, who was one of the Founders. And there was Freya.

We were the Family, but we weren’t just an ordinary family. We were a new, better kind of family.

We didn’t need to go to school, because we had a new, better kind of education. We shared everything. We were close to the ancient way of living and the ancient landscape. We knew the moors, and the standing stones. We celebrated the solstice in the correct way, with honey and fruit and garlands of fresh flowers. We knew the Bad and we knew how to keep it away.

And we had Foxlowe, our home. Where we were free.

There really was no reason for anyone to want to leave.

Make sure to check back in in a couple of weeks and see if I’ve reviewed it. Though no immediate promises as I still have three other books I haven’t reviewed yet. It may end up that they come in another Mini Reads.

Also, slightly cheating but I had to put in a plug for my previous blog post, so this past week I blogged about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Check out my review here and please note, it’s NOT spoiler free.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that you hope to re-read some day.

I am a huge fan of re-reading. In fact for great article on re-reading, have a look at this NPR article on ‘The Transformative Joy of Re-Reading.’

So because I re-read so much, I don’t really hope to re-read too many because they’re always there. I think for me books I hope to re-read are the classics where I feel like you don’t get the most out of them the first time.

I never quite got around to finishing Tender is the Night (Fitzgerald), but I’d like to re-read it/finish reading it. I also think Catcher in the Rye deserves a second reading, because it’s still sticking with me almost a year after I read it and I’m sure I can even more from it a second time.

 


And that closes up Musing Mondays for this week! Check out all the other responses on Books and a Beat’s page!

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – Monday 8th August

Leave a Reply

